Wisconsin Wildlife Federation Scholarships


The Wisconsin Wildlife Federation gives out six (6) - $1000 scholarships each year to students attending UW Stevens Point.  For more information on our scholarship program, please contact our Scholarship Committee Chair, Betty Borchert at or by calling (920) 688-3122.


2012 Scholarships Awarded:


Jacob Koebernik  (recipient), Muskego, WI – Wildlife Ecology-Research & Management
Gordon Bubolz ScholarshipThis scholarship originated with seed money from Gordon Bubolz and was a continuation of his many efforts in conservation.  Included among his conservation works is the Bubolz Conservation Center near his hometown of Appleton, WI.  The Center and its buildings are used by a wide variety of conservation groups.


Jamie Rupple  (recipient), Wisconsin Rapids, WI – Forest Management
Richard Hemp Memorial Scholarship – This scholarship is given to a student meeting the basic criteria of good academic standing, a non anti-hunter and majoring in Forestry or Wildlife.  In addition, the student should be interested in the field of journalism.


Hannah White (recipient), Hammond, WI – Wildlife Ecology-Research & Management
J.L. Schneider Memorial Scholarship – This scholarship is dedicated to the memory of the late J.L. Schneider.  J.L. believed that you were never too old to learn, for no one man knew everything and we can all learn from each other.  He was a dairy farmer who worked with the soil conservation department, a pioneer in strip and terrace farming.  When he wasn’t farming he was teaching hunter safety for 35 years.  He also taught 4-H nature study and worked at Poynette Game Farm, Marsh Have and Horicon Marsh on research projects and teaching about nature.  J.L. firmly believed that education is a never ending experience and the earth was ours to protect and care for.  J.L. was a man that people looked up to and admired.


Ethan Lockhart (recipient), Elkhorn, WI – Urban Forestry
Les Woerpel Scholarship – “There is more to do than has already been done, and it needs to be done by cooperation, understanding and hard work.  May the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation continue to grow and prosper so that these ends may be met” – Leslie “Les” Woerpel.  Les was involved in conservation on the national level through papers authored on pheasant management, pesticide use, water and water rights, and was an avid proponent of the Wilderness and Multiple Use and Sustained Yield Acts.  On the state and local level, his efforts helped establish the Chequamagon and Nicolet Forests and the George W. Mead Wildlife Area as well as the reintroduction of the prairie chicken in the Buena Vista Marsh.  Les was commended by Governors Nelson and Knowles and by President Nixon for his leadership.


Justin Nooker (recipient), Green Bay, WI - Forest Ecosystem & Management
William Peterburs Jr. Scholarship – William “Bill” Peterburs, long-time Associate Director of the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation, died on November 30, 1995.  Bill, an avid water fowler and outdoorsman, was known throughout the state and nation for his work to ban the use of lead shot in waterfowl hunting.  He led the fight for steel shot at a considerable cost of time and money to himself and his family.  He had a cause to fight for and won.


Jacob Marty (recipient), Monticello, WI
William Aberg Scholarship – This scholarship is dedicated to the memory of the late William J.P. Aberg, a founder of the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation and the National Wildlife Federation, who was instrumental in the writing and passage of such basic conservation acts as the establishment of a citizens policy body to determine natural resource management policy, forestry protection and development through a state mill tax and forest-crop law, acquisition of Horicon Marsh and acquisition of national forest areas in Wisconsin.  He served with distinction for two terms on the former Wisconsin Conservation Commission, now the Wisconsin Natural Resources Board.