Resolution Requesting the Reinstatement of DNR Wolf Advisory Committees Meetings

Whereas, the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Wolf Advisory Committee was created to advise the DNR Management Team on policies regarding wolf management in the state; and

Whereas, the Advisory Committee is comprised of DNR staff, DNR partners and stakeholders with an interest in sound wolf management in the state; and

Whereas, the committee membership includes representatives of a number of diverse interests, including but not limited to: U.S. Department of Agriculture Wildlife Services, U.S. Forest Service, Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission, a number of agricultural related organizations, conservation organizations, hunting and trapping organizations including the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation, the Wisconsin Conservation Congress and the Wisconsin County Forest Association to name a few; and

Whereas, these representatives have a vested interest in the impact of wolves on the landscape and local communities of the state in areas of wolf populations and the need for sound, professional management of the wolf population in the state; and

Whereas, the DNR Wolf Advisory Committee has not held a meeting since October 2014; and

Whereas, the Advisory Committee's purpose is not limited to wolf harvest seasons and quotas, but all issues regarding the status of wolves in the state; and

Whereas, since the last Committee meeting there have been many events and actions in the state and country affecting the issue of wolf management in Wisconsin; and

Whereas, an Advisory Committee meeting should be held so that members and partners can receive and discuss updated information on wolf biology, impact and science.

Therefore be it resolved, that the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation at its Annual Meeting held in Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin on April 12 and 13, 2019 recommends the immediate reinstatement of regularly scheduled meetings of the DNR Wolf Advisory Committee.

Submitted by the WWF Wildlife Committee: Ralph Fritsch and Kevyn Quamme, Co-chairs